Thread poster: Helen Li
Helen Li
Helen Li  Identity Verified
Singapore
Local time: 12:26
English to Chinese
+ ...
Mar 28, 2008

Hi, I am a beginner to Trados and just bought the SDL Trados 2007. I am thinking to transfer my past translation work to the TM. I understand the Winalign can do the job if I have one source document and one target document.

The problems are that most of my past translation is delivered as one bilingule file (i.e. one paragrah in source language followed by one paragraph in target language. ). In this case, what is the best way for me to turn my old translation work into TM with Tr
... See more
Hi, I am a beginner to Trados and just bought the SDL Trados 2007. I am thinking to transfer my past translation work to the TM. I understand the Winalign can do the job if I have one source document and one target document.

The problems are that most of my past translation is delivered as one bilingule file (i.e. one paragrah in source language followed by one paragraph in target language. ). In this case, what is the best way for me to turn my old translation work into TM with Trados?

Many thanks for your help!
Collapse

Katherine Mérignac
Katherine Mérignac  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 06:26
Member (2004)
Clean up Mar 28, 2008

Hi Helen,

It should be dead easy, and you're lucky to have bilingual files. Simply make a copy of each file and clean up the copy using the TM you want to update - by making a copy, you get to keep the original bilingual file.

HTH,

Katherine

Anette Herbert
Anette Herbert  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:26
English to Swedish
+ ...
Use search and replace Mar 28, 2008

Helen Li wrote:

The problems are that most of my past translation is delivered as one bilingule file (i.e. one paragrah in source language followed by one paragraph in target language. ). In this case, what is the best way for me to turn my old translation work into TM with Trados?