Thread poster: Verdeflor
Verdeflor
Germany
Local time: 16:42
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 6, 2008

Hello Everyone:
Can someone help me, please? I'm new with Multiterm (version 7) and I've been trying for two days to convert a glosary of terms so that I can use it while translating with Trados (7 Freelance). I have managed to convert a txt file into an xml with Multiterm Convert but when I try to import it, it doesn't work.
I follow the steps in the User's Guide and the process is "successfully" completed, but with 0 entries!!!
Does anyone have an idea of what I'm doing wrong? Or any suggestion of what to do with the glosary I have so that I can use it with Trados?
Thanks in advance,
Verdeflor

Direct link Reply with quote

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech
+ ...
Index fields definitions Jun 8, 2008

Hi,
your problem is probably related to index field names. There are two types of them:
1. Index fields names in your converted XML (they may say "English" and "Espanol" for instance);
2. Index fields names you define when selecting the languages for import in MultiTerm (they may say "English" and "Spanish").

Make sure the index fields headers in your XML are the same as those you define in MultiTerm while selecting the languages for import.
That is, if your glossary XML says "English" and "Espanol", you will have to rename the index header "Spanish" to "Espanol" in MultiTerm.

Tomás Cano Binder, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
What is the source format of the glossary? Jun 8, 2008

Can you tell us what the original format of the glossary is?

[Edited at 2008-06-08 15:19]

FarkasAndras
English to Hungarian
+ ...
one tip Jun 8, 2008

One of the many messed up things in the multiterm import process is that you have to manually designate each and every column where your terms are as an index field. "Index field" in multiterm speak basically means "terms, not comments or definitions".