Thread poster: Therrien

Therrien  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 00:14
English to French
+ ...
Jun 17, 2008

Hello Forum:

I am new to the TagEditor and I am probably running into a simple problem.

I am a new to TagEditor, and CAT tools all-together.

I have been using TagEditor to complete a translation of .xml documents, all rendered
into a .ttx format by my handy associate.

I am now completing the translation work and would like to make a final word count, but I cannot find the function to do so. Mr. Help File states that "Word counts are displayed in the ITD tab of the Properties dialog box". Unfortunately, I don't see an ITD tab in the properties box.

I thought of simply taking the painful time to copy/paste the translated material from the preview pane and counting the lot using a word processor. I realized I am loosing precious words from my word count as some of the material is not in view at the end of the line, such as keywords. And I am sure there is a much simpler solution right under my nose.

Also, I am currently operating on a computer that only has Open Office, which does not work with Trados et al.

So, what do I seem to be missing?
Help would be very much appreciated.

Best:

Alexandre

Direct link Reply with quote

Eleni Makantani
Greece
Local time: 09:14
English to Greek
+ ...
Analyse Jun 17, 2008

Hello,

I think that Tageditor is really unfriendly to work on, but equally necessary when having to deal with different file types. Why don't you try Workbench--> Tools--> Analyse? I think you will get a reliable wordcount this way. It is also useful while translating, because it tells you how much work there is still to be done...

Regards,
Eleni

Annelise Meyer  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 08:14
English to French
+ ...
A final wordcount of what? Jun 17, 2008

Hi Therrien,