Mobile menu

TagEditor error 80005 accessing Excel file "Unable to get the Name property of the Series class"
Thread poster: Adam Thomson

Adam Thomson  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:19
Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
Jun 29, 2008

TagEditor error message when trying to access an Excel file in TagEditor to create a TradosTag file.

The full error message is, "(80005): Connection with server application error: Unable to get the Name property of the Series class". This makes no sense to me but then I am not a computer expert.

TagEditor had no problem accessing the other Excel file the client sent, so I suspect there may be some corruption in this particular file. (I will be tactfully asking the client for another copy of the file.)

However, it would be good to know if someone has some insights on this: how one might work with the file in Excel to overcome the problem, or whatever.

Direct link Reply with quote

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 22:19
Partial member (2004)
English to Thai
+ ...
Impurity Jun 30, 2008

I say the source Excel file has impurity e.g. certain types of error.

The quickest way is trying:
1. Save the Excel file as tab delimited file (*.cvs or .txt)
2. Open it.
3. Save as Excel file or Word file.
4. Open and pretranslate with the previous TM.
5. Clean it.

Some Excel files are not suitable to save as *.txt file etc. if they contain graphic, formula, text box etc. But they may be save as another Excel file. On the final stage, you can combine [paste] both types of files in Excel after the translation process.

Cheers,
Soonthon L.

Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
How do I "save file as tab delimited file"? Jun 30, 2008

Many thanks to Soonthon for his helpful input.

Sorry to be so ignorant, but how do I do Soonthon's suggestion of "saving the file as tab delimited file?"