Track this topic | User | Thread poster: Claudia Alvis Trados emails from http://cl.exct.net - Phishing or SDL spam | Claudia Alvis United States Local time: 05:10 English to Spanish + ... |
Lately I've been getting a lot of Trados spam but I just checked the links and they're not actually from SDL. Also, the graphics and fonts are very low quality. On the bottom there's another logo: Powered by Exact Target.
The latest emails are about the ATA conference in Orlando and the Trados certification program. So, are these emails an attempt of phishing information or is SDL resorting to good old-fashion spam? | | | | Madeleine MacRae Klintebo United Kingdom Local time: 11:10
Member Swedish to English + ... | | Massmail program | Aug 11, 2008 |
ExactTarget is a massmail program (part of/connected to SalesForce - a CRM tool).
How do I know this? I use it in my daytime job to send emails to our clients/prospects. We only started using this tool some months ago (we previously used Maxemail).
Check these two sites to get some more info:
www.exacttarget.com
www.salesforce.com
As regards the low quality graphics and fonts, I assume that's all down to SDL. Any graphics we use in our emails are produced by our design team.
ExactTarget has quite a few hurdles you have to jump (i.e. confirming all clients have accepted to be sent emails, etc) before you can click send. If you've not agreed (or asked not) to receive emails from SDL, they might be in breach of data protection laws.
I'm surprised you mention that the links aren't from SDL. How do you check this? I always test click any links before hitting send and they look like ordinary links to our site. Maybe I should right click them as well?
Regards,
Madeleine | | | | Madeleine MacRae Klintebo United Kingdom Local time: 11:10
Member Swedish to English + ... | | BTW - could be considered as spam | Aug 11, 2008 |
If you're getting frequent emails.
We have a policy of sending as few emails as possible, but still keeping our clients updated with developments. The last thing we want is for our clients to think we're spamming them (and consequently adding our email address to their spam filter). | | | | To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator | Trados emails from http://cl.exct.net - Phishing or SDL spam |