After you've learned basic features of SDL Trados, what's next?
Thread poster: xxxVivianaP
xxxVivianaP
Argentina
Local time: 09:03
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 10, 2008

I'm new to Trados and I've already read Life Jensen's tutorial and already learned how to use basic features of Trados 2007. What else can I do to make a proper use of the software?

Direct link Reply with quote

sivtufte  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 14:03
English to Norwegian (Bokmal)
+ ...
Practise Sep 10, 2008

When I started I just played along with texts from various places, within my fields. Pick some you find interesting and go ahead - translate, edit, print, wiew etc. Fun to learn from. Also you could find webinars - I assume they give lessons to practise.

Stuart Dowell  Identity Verified
Poland
Member (2007)
Polish to English
+ ...
Certification Sep 11, 2008

You could study for and take certification exams.

This would introduce you to many new features and possibilities in a structured way.

Seamus Moran  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
Does it work? Sep 11, 2008

I heard Trados is a nightmare when you start to use it - is this true? I have downloaded Wordfast because of the scare stories I have heard....

Poland
Member (2007)
Polish to English
+ ...
Yes it works, when it works Sep 11, 2008

My experience is that it works well.

It should be remembered that Trados is an extremely powerful and sophisticated set of tools and it takes time and skill to learn how to apply them well.

I think a lot of people have problems with strange sounding error messages and it puts them off. Overcoming these kinds of issues can be a way to understand the various applications better.

[Edited at 2008-09-11 09:55]

Jabberwock  Identity Verified
Poland
Member (2004)
English to Polish
Problems that should not be there in the first place Sep 11, 2008

stuart dowell wrote: