Mobile menu

How to translate OpenOffice files using SDL Edit?
Thread poster: damg_translator
damg_translator
Brazil
Local time: 17:38
English to Portuguese
Sep 19, 2008

Hi everyone. I'll try to make it simple:

I've been using SDL Trados 2007 for only two months, and I know very little about it.
First, let me explain how I use it:

- when I need to translate a file, I just right click on it, choose OPEN WITH >> SDL SINGLE FILE WIZARD;
(or I can click on the icon 'SDLX')
- then there is that small window 'Start Translation', where I choose the source and target language, and also the TM. After that, the SDL Edit opens, dividing the window in two, with my source language on the left, and the target language on the right.

I do that with MS Office files, but I just can't do the same procedure for Open Office files. (when I try to open it, trados doesn't recognize openoffice files as "translatable". PLEASE, can somebody tell me why can't I do that? And if there's a way of translating OpenOffice files, could someone explain it in details to me?

Once I've tried to translate an OpenOffice file using Tag Editor, but I couldn't understand how it works! The SDL Trados 2007 package has too many tools, I'm completely lost! I just know how to use the SDL Edit.

Thanks to the one that will answer me...

Direct link Reply with quote

Rick Henry  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:38
Italian to English
+ ...
Do you have Open Office or did you just receive an OO file? Sep 19, 2008

If you have Open Office, all you need to do is open the document within Open Office, then save as either RTF or Word. Then you'll be able to do what you want with the converted file.

If you don't have Open Office, it's freely available at www.openoffice.org

HTH

R.
==

damg_translator
Brazil
English to Portuguese
TOPIC STARTER
I've already tried it - formatted text is gone Sep 22, 2008