Two PCs - where to store trans memory & termbase files?
Thread poster: Olson
Olson
Olson
Chinese to English
Oct 7, 2008

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie, and have a question regarding file management. I have Workbench and Multiterm installed on both desktop and laptop PCs. After I complete a translation job on one machine, I'd like to transfer the resultant translation memory and termbase data onto the other machine.

First, what files do I have to copy and where? Are there any folder/file management schemes that you'd recommend?

Here's my setup:

Desktop
Windows XP,
... See more
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie, and have a question regarding file management. I have Workbench and Multiterm installed on both desktop and laptop PCs. After I complete a translation job on one machine, I'd like to transfer the resultant translation memory and termbase data onto the other machine.

First, what files do I have to copy and where? Are there any folder/file management schemes that you'd recommend?

Here's my setup:

Desktop
Windows XP, SP2
Trados 6.6
Multiterm 6.0.1
MS Word (Office 2000)

Laptiop
Windows XP, SP2
Trados 6.6
Multiterm 6.0.1
MS Word (Office 2000)

I may not have used the correct terms, but the basic idea is I want to keep Trados in sync on both machines. I'd appreciate any help along this line.

Rusty Olson
Collapse

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)
Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 19:08
English to Thai
+ ...
My idea Oct 8, 2008

If I were you, I will have my translation memory (TM) on the desktop and open to use with the laptop via Network. Trados allows use of TM and Termbase from the desktop. This will give you automatic synchronous update of TM and Termbase.

Regards,
SL

Steven Capsuto
Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:08
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Use the desktop as the ultimate archive Oct 8, 2008