Mobile menu

Error 31050 "not a translator's workbench 2.x or later database"
Thread poster: D Scully
D Scully
English to French
Oct 11, 2008

I have been using SDL Trados 2007 successfully for several months. Suddenly I was unable to access SDL, but I located a corrupt file and reset it by searching Documents/Administrator/SDL Trados/Localserver.xml and that solved the problem. Now it appears that my memory is corrupt and I get the error message 31050 "not a translator's workbench 2.x or later database". How can I re-establish the pre-existing translation memory? Please note, I am able to create a new translation memory but I notice a message that it is "opened exclusively". Is this correct? Please let me know if you need further technical details in order to assist.

Thanks in advance for any help on this issue.

Direct link Reply with quote

Vito Smolej
Germany
Local time: 21:30
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
"TM Opened exclusively" Oct 12, 2008

it appears that my memory is corrupt and I get the error message 31050 "not a translator's workbench 2.x or later database". How can I re-establish the pre-existing translation memory?
Is there no way to recreate it from scratch, i.e. by importing its exported contents (TXT, or TMX) and/or by pretranslation of texts? My experience is that with some luck 90% can be reconstituted this way and 10% then by picking up bits and pieces.
it is "opened exclusively".
that is a standard situation for single user environment.

What I would assume, is that the screwup with Localserver.xml also left traces on the TM. Have you tried to "File > Reorganise" it? Can you Export it? TM Is essentially a linear structure and if the problem is not at the beginning but somewhere down the line, partial exports are still possible.

D Scully
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
SDL 31050 follow up Oct 12, 2008