SDL Trados server - remote access options
Thread poster: Dimmo
Dimmo
Local time: 13:57
English to Bulgarian
Nov 6, 2008

First of all I have to admit that I’m a beginner in managing SDL Trados applications. One of my roles in the office is to manage SDL Trados Server Manager 2007 - we have a server based version of the program (14 workstations). As you know, in order to use the Trados applications, each workstation connects to the server and receives its license from it. That makes impossible working when you’re out of the network – no bringing additional tasks home, no busy Sundays. This happy time is over - I have to travel abroad and this fact forces me to ask you the following: how can I work when I’m not connected to my office network? Is it better to use the “Trados Anywhere” option to access the server or it is better to configure a VPN connection to the Trados server? If VPN is a better idea, can you advise me which VPN client should I use?

Thank you in advance!

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxOptiproz Pri
Local time: 12:57
English
Maybe... Nov 7, 2008

Hi trakk

Isn´t SDL not offering some Server trainings?

Cheers

Stefan Gentz
Local time: 12:57
English to German
+ ...
TM Anywhere Nov 8, 2008

Hi "trakk",

it should be no problem to connect to your tm server via TM Anywhere. It is very easy to use from the workbench with > File > Connect...
However you will need a license for the local PC at home. For the weekend you can "borrow" a license from one of your 14 office workstations with the License Manager. The License Manager can be found in the windows start in Folder SDL TRADOS or for example in the Workbench > Help > About > License Manager > Borrow or Return.

I do not see any advantage in VPN here.

(You might also like to consider something like UltraVNC if you have fast connections.)

Kind Regards,
Stefan Gentz
TRACOM OHG

P.S.: You will probably get more support from the community with a "real name"

Dimmo
English to Bulgarian
TOPIC STARTER