Mobile menu

Translation Memory - how to make the best of it?
Thread poster: Przemyslaw Podmostko

Przemyslaw Podmostko  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:39
English to Polish
+ ...
Nov 29, 2008

Hello!

I'm a beginner user of Trados (actually I like SDLX better). I just wanted to ask you colleagues what you do to increase usability of Translation Memories created by you, meaning what do you do in order for the TM to automatically translate as many phrases and words as possible?

E.g. is it possible to use SDLAlign to align two translations in a way that the TM is able to extract as many words and phrases as possible, and without doing it manually? (separating segments of a 20-pages word document will be a gruelling process).

Or do you just add words to the TermBase?

And if your language has declination (cases) do you add a phrase/word in all cases to the TermBase to improve finding matches or do you just decrease the percentage of fuzzy match probability?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions!

Kindest regards
Przemyslaw Podmostko

Direct link Reply with quote

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 22:39
English to Czech
+ ...
Comments Nov 29, 2008

Hi Przemyslaw,
I don't want to sound rude but this is a technical forum used by most ProZians to troubleshoot technical issues. Moreover, you can hardly expect any freelancer/competitor to reveal his/her know-how in organizing files etc.

Let me mention some comments though:

E.g. is it possible to use SDLAlign to align two translations in a way that the TM is able to extract as many words and phrases as possible, and without doing it manually? (separating segments of a 20-pages word document will be a gruelling process).