Vitaliy Plinto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:51
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
Nov 30, 2008

Dear Colleagues,

As a starting translator I plan on purchasing SDL Trados 2007 Freelancer package soon, but there are a couple of questions that I would like to be clear on to ensure a successful purchase:

1. I have heard from several experts that in order to purchase SDL Trados I must be licensed. What does this "licensing" entail? Does that mean that I must complete some Trados courses, or having a Master's degree in the Translation discipline would be enough? For exa
... See more
Dear Colleagues,

As a starting translator I plan on purchasing SDL Trados 2007 Freelancer package soon, but there are a couple of questions that I would like to be clear on to ensure a successful purchase:

1. I have heard from several experts that in order to purchase SDL Trados I must be licensed. What does this "licensing" entail? Does that mean that I must complete some Trados courses, or having a Master's degree in the Translation discipline would be enough? For example, I was taught how to use Trados in several courses throughout my Master's program. Does this satisfy the "licensing" requirement?

2. I am looking for some discounts on SDL Trados to save some money and to decrease my start-up costs. Are there any discounts offered specifically for members of ATA or local associations? If so, how often are they offered and how long do they generally last?

Thanks a lot for your help and cooperation!

Kind regards,

Vitaliy
Collapse

Spiros Doikas
Spiros Doikas  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:51
Member (2002)
English to Greek
+ ...
No... Nov 30, 2008

1. Anyone can purchase.
2. Proz runs Trados offers regularly (translators' group buying) but I am not aware for special discounts for members of ATA or local associations. Perhaps, if you know many people in your local association willing to purchase, you could approach Trados and ask for an offer.