Trados TagEditor Help
Thread poster: Alexandra Sommerseth (dr med vet)
Alexandra Sommerseth (dr med vet)  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 14:54
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Dec 2, 2008

I have translated a ttx file in Tag Editor. I am a beginner with this, and I think I did something wrong when I was finish translating. When I try to open the file now I get this message:
"40007: Error reading TTX file header: A leading surrogate character was not followed by a legal second character."

I have found my translation in workbench under maintenance, but how do I open the translated text again (and hopefully send it to the client!??)

Direct link Reply with quote

Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
goto File > Save Target as ... Dec 2, 2008

I have found my translation in workbench under maintenance, but how do I open the translated text again (and hopefully send it to the client!??)

ttx is a bilingual (source AND target) file. You get the translated file as indicated above. Note: TagEditor needs the original (source) file in the same subdircxtory as ttx to be able to create the target file.

Regards

Vito

Norway
English to Norwegian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
But can`t open file Dec 2, 2008

Yes, I understand this, and I saved it as bilingual, but something wrong happened at the end of the translation and saving process and I now need to retrieve the file. How can I open it again from Tag Editor or workbench? Can I open/retrieve the file from workbench?

Anja Weggel  Identity Verified
Member (2007)
English to German
Go back to original file Dec 2, 2008

Hi Alexandra,

I do not know that particular error, however, maybe it will help if you open your original file again and simply click through all the segments again. Since everything should be in your TM, this should not take long. You then save it as translated file. Unless, the error hinders conversion, this should be a quick solution to give you the translated file.

Kind regards
Anja