SDL MultiTerm - Error: java.lang.NullPointerException
Thread poster: ViktoriaG

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 12:04
English to French
+ ...
Dec 6, 2008

I am having a problem which the SDL knowledge base doesn't seem to offer a solution to. I am using version 7.5 of MultiTerm Desktop.

I have a bilingual termbase containing just under 2000 terms. The termbase is English < > French. I opened the termbase directly in the MultiTerm application and wanted to change the translation for a term. When I click on the Edit button, the term record goes blank for a few seconds, and then, I get the following error messages:

1. A small popup with "Microsoft Internet Explorer" in its title bar simply displays the word null. I click OK.
2. I get another similar popup, this time containing the string java.lang.NullPointerException.

I restarted my computer, I reorganized the TDB, searched the knowledge base, the help file, etc. Nothing. The only thing I found is an article in the knowledge base that does mention the error I am getting - but it assumes I am using Tomcat to access an online termbase, which is not at all my case (this is a local termbase created and maintained by me).

I don't understand what is wrong, because I have been working with this termbase for the past three months and I never had a problem. I did not introduce any characters that are not part of the charset for the termbase's languages. I add most terms directly through TagEditor. Sometimes, I add them manually, but I haven't done so in a while, so I doubt any of my manually created records may contain something that may be causing this problem.

Please, let me know if you know the solution to this problem or where I can find it. Hopefully, I get some quick replies - I am doing QA on a large set of files and I can't continue. This is causing unnecessary delays.

Thanks in advance!

[Edited at 2008-12-06 04:17 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

psicutrinius  Identity Verified
Spain