Problem with french accentuated characters in TagEditor
Thread poster: Sebastien Richer
Sebastien Richer  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:07
English to French
+ ...
Jan 27, 2009

Hello,

I'm an english to french translator and I'm having some difficulty with my current TagEditor project in TTX file format. For some odd reason, all the accentuated characters don't show when the TM proposes me a match. If I look in the workbench window, the text is displayed correctly, but in the actual document, these characters (é,à,ç and others) only show up as a question mark. If I press the get translation button, it doesn't correct the problem. This has never happened to me before and I do not know how to fix this, it's very time-consuming to have to insert back all these characters. Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Thank you.

Direct link Reply with quote

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:07
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
What is your source file? Jan 27, 2009

Did you create the ttx file on your own?

English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
It's the client's Jan 27, 2009

No I didn't, it's the client's file. I've worked for this client many times before, this has never happened before. Even the translations I've done as part of this project still don't appear correctly when the TM suggests it as a match.

Here's a screen capture that might help understand my problem better :

Photobucket

As you can see, the text in my document doesn't appear correctly. yet the TM window displays it properly.

[Edited at 2009-01-27 17:06 GMT]

Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
The problem is the ttx Jan 27, 2009

I assume.
Usually people do not pay much attention to the correct settings wgen creating the ttx.
Was this a Framemaker file?
Did the customer change from version to a newer one?
If it is not Framemaker, was the option for displaying formatting and font mapping in filter options switched off?

English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER