An error has occurred in the script on this page.
Thread poster: Pavel Tsvetkov

Pavel Tsvetkov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 19:44
Member (2008)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...

MODERATOR
Feb 20, 2009

This is the error message I get when I try to edit an entry in a termbase, opened in SDL MultiTerm 2007:

An error has occurred in the script on this page.
Line: 58
Char: 2
Error: 'undefined' is null or not an object Code: 0
URL: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/XXX% 20XXX/Local%20Settings/Temp/edi46c.htm
Do you want to continue running scripts on this page?
Yes No

Please, help me with this one as it is a persistent error and it slows me down!


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Pavel Tsvetkov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 19:44
Member (2008)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
Follow up Feb 21, 2009

The message above is preceded with "Java runtime environment could not be loaded".

No entries can be added or edited from MultiTerm.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:44
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
What OS are you using? Feb 22, 2009

Could you also please check in your installed software, which Java Runtime Environments are installed?
Did you actualize your Internet Explorer to version 8?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Pavel Tsvetkov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 19:44
Member (2008)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
Answers Feb 22, 2009

Thank you for your interest!

OS: WinXP Pro SP2

Java Runtime versions: 1.5.0_10, 1.5.0_12, 1.6.0_11. All enabled.

I have IE v7, do I need to get v8?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:44
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
No Internet Explorer 8! Feb 22, 2009

Stay away from it, otherwise Multiterm will not work anymore.

But the problem might very well lay elswhere:
You report to have JRE 6 Update 11.
This is a known problem, already answered by SDL on talisma.sdl.com

To put it short: Multiterm needs the older JRE 5 and cannot work with the lates Java developments. As the new Java machine does not allow MT to chose which machine is to be used, problems occur.
To get rid of it, go to Control Panel (in Windows, of course), select Java.
There select the "Advanced tab". There you will see "Java plug-in".
Open it by clicking the plus sign beside it.
The "Allow nex generation plug-in" (or similar, I do not have English here) will be most probably checked. Deselect it, close the settings, use the "Self_register_desktop.bat" (you already know the file) to register Multiterm and restart your machine. This should help.
For detail see the screen shot below:



Direct link Reply with quote
 

Pavel Tsvetkov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 19:44
Member (2008)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
No luck! Feb 22, 2009

I did all you advised, however, when trying to add or edit an entry in MultiTerm I still get...

Java(TM) Plug-in Fatal Error

The Java Runtime Environment cannot be loaded

...and then the aforementioned error message!

I hope you have other suggestions!


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:44
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Sorry, it looks like the problem would indeed be Java Feb 22, 2009

What you can do is deinstalling all Javas you have and installing only both 1.5 runtimes.
You'll find the necessary installation files in folders, where you unzipped Trados before installation or alternatively here http://java.sun.com/products/archive/
When you get there, chose JDK/JRE - 5.0 and download both update 10 and 12. I think it is also obvious to install JRE 1.5.0.10 first and 1.5.0.12 afterwards.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Pavel Tsvetkov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 19:44
Member (2008)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
No, no luck! Feb 22, 2009

Downloaded, uninstalled, installed, registered... it did not help.

Do you know what else I could do to fix MultiTerm?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:44
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
The last ressort Feb 22, 2009

would be clean uninstall of all Trados components, Java, .NET Framework, Visual C++ and MSXML 4.0.
This means uninstalling all those components with the Software feature via Control Panel, then removing their entries from the Registry (better: renaming the corresponding entries to _Entry, where Entry represents the previous name) and reinstalling the whole stuff again.
I was told to install MT first, then Trados, but given the fact, Trados uses JRE 5 Update 10 and MT uses JRE 5 Update 12 an opposite installation order seems to make more sense.

Sorry, but you could also try to go via talisma.sdl.com - either you'll find a result or will contact the support through this page.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Pavel Tsvetkov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 19:44
Member (2008)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
Thak you for your time! Feb 22, 2009



Direct link Reply with quote
 

Katherine Mérignac  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 18:44
Member (2004)
French to English
Solution? May 29, 2009

Hi Pavel - did you ever find the solution for this? I have the same problem, and it's driving me nutty. I sincerely hope these MultiTerm issues will disappear with Trados 2009.

Jerzy - you seemed to imply it would be a bad idea to install IE 8, which I have done. Do you think removing it might solve my problem?

Kate


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Pavel Tsvetkov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 19:44
Member (2008)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...

MODERATOR
TOPIC STARTER
Yes and No May 29, 2009

Hi Katherine

I did find a solution, but you will not like it I reinstalled Windows and Trados from scratch, and did not let Java update itself...

It is a pity that such an expensive piece of software that has been "perfected" for so many years, breaks down so easily and no patch or new version released to this moment has ever addressed this issue successfully.

Good Luck!


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

An error has occurred in the script on this page.

Advanced search







Anycount & Translation Office 3000
Translation Office 3000

Translation Office 3000 is an advanced accounting tool for freelance translators and small agencies. TO3000 easily and seamlessly integrates with the business life of professional freelance translators.

More info »
Déjà Vu X3
Try it, Love it

Find out why Déjà Vu is today the most flexible, customizable and user-friendly tool on the market. See the brand new features in action: *Completely redesigned user interface *Live Preview *Inline spell checking *Inline

More info »



All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs