switching old trados (freelance 6.5) license to a new computer
Thread poster: dmach
dmach
Finland
Local time: 13:51
English to Finnish
+ ...
Apr 1, 2009

I used to work as a freelance translator and had Trados freelance 6.5 (which must be ancient by now). Now I find myself in a situation, in which I could really use the old software for a few odd things. Naturally, my hardware has changed many times over and all I have left is the license.

I still have an account with SDL Trados, and it reads there that I can "generate" 1 license file (I have no idea what that even means, if anything). No activation codes are listed there, though. But I have freelance 6.5 downloads and updates available. I haven't bothered to download them, since they are useless, if there is no way to activate them.

The reason I'm here bothering you with my problem is that SDL doesn't provide support for old products. This I find very strange indeed, unless, of course, the old software cannot be even used anymore. I'm not working as a full-time translator anymore, so updating to a more recent version is a not really an option - unless I want a brand new, expensive software, which I'm going to use a couple of times a month or something...

My question: Does anyone know, if it is even possible to activate this old software in my new computer? How am I going to get the activation codes, if I can't even get support from SDL?

In any case, I would really appreciate tips, solutions, experiences on this... anything. Thank you:)

Direct link Reply with quote

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:51
French to Polish
+ ...
Just copy your licence.lic file on the new PC... Apr 1, 2009

dmach wrote:

I used to work as a freelance translator and had Trados freelance 6.5 (which must be ancient by now).

It is, indeed