Source text and target text are stuck to each other (hidden text is off)
Thread poster: Radu Cazac
Radu Cazac
Radu Cazac
Local time: 20:08
Apr 11, 2009

I am a newbie with Trados, so please bear my unitiated language. This doesn't have to do anything with the hidden text issue, which was discussed here. I work in Workbench and Word 2003.

This is what happens: In certain paragraphs of a 100 page text, I insert the translation in the target section, I hit Set/close or Close, but the source text does not replace the target text (hidden text in Word is off) but they remain stuck to each other.

I'll try to explain 'stuck'.
... See more
I am a newbie with Trados, so please bear my unitiated language. This doesn't have to do anything with the hidden text issue, which was discussed here. I work in Workbench and Word 2003.

This is what happens: In certain paragraphs of a 100 page text, I insert the translation in the target section, I hit Set/close or Close, but the source text does not replace the target text (hidden text in Word is off) but they remain stuck to each other.

I'll try to explain 'stuck'. Let's say that ABC is the source text, and DEF is the target text. Normally, ABC should be replaced by DEF, but in my case the remain like ABC.DEF The point represents the end of the source text. I put a space at the end of the source sentence, then the source and the target became separated, like ABC . DEF, but they remain stuck to each other.

It happens only in a few paragraphs. The strange thing is that I copy pasted thos paragraphs in a new Word window, and they behaved the same. It looks like a problem with the text formatting, but how do I fix it in Trados?

If I didn't make myself clear, please let me know. Thank you in advance.
Collapse

Cecilia Carrizo
Cecilia Carrizo
Argentina
Local time: 14:08
English to Spanish
+ ...
try cleaning up the text Apr 11, 2009