Thread poster: Lorraine Bathurst
Lorraine Bathurst
Lorraine Bathurst
United Kingdom
Local time: 00:21
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 23, 2010

I have been working with Trados 2009. A third of the way through a rolling translation and I have supplied a TM and monolingual version of the document. But I have been asked for a TM and bilingual version of my (word) doc. from the 2007 suite. I have no experience with 2007 (although I do have it). Is it possible to continue this translation in 2007 and if not how do I get a bilingual version of the translation in 2009. I can only access the Target in MS word -clearly not bilingual.
Tha
... See more
I have been working with Trados 2009. A third of the way through a rolling translation and I have supplied a TM and monolingual version of the document. But I have been asked for a TM and bilingual version of my (word) doc. from the 2007 suite. I have no experience with 2007 (although I do have it). Is it possible to continue this translation in 2007 and if not how do I get a bilingual version of the translation in 2009. I can only access the Target in MS word -clearly not bilingual.
Thanks
L
Collapse

Grzegorz Gryc
Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:21
French to Polish
+ ...
Workarounds... other CAT tools... Jul 24, 2010

Lorraine Bathurst wrote:

I have been working with Trados 2009. A third of the way through a rolling translation and I have supplied a TM and monolingual version of the document. But I have been asked for a TM and bilingual version of my (word) doc. from the 2007 suite. I have no experience with 2007 (although I do have it). Is it possible to continue this translation in 2007

No.
The T2009 documents can't be opened directly in the Word + Workbench combo.

But you can reuse your TM (export as tMX. then import in a Workbench 2007 memory) and retranslate the document.
You'll need some edition rework, dependind of the complexity of your document.
At least, you have a workaround.