Have been asked to quote with a 'Trados breakdown'? What is meant?
Thread poster: Terese Whitty

Terese Whitty
United States
Local time: 09:00
Member (2004)
English to Swedish
Mar 30, 2004

Hi!
I am very new with Trados. I have been offered to bid on a project and they want my rate, including Trados breakdown. What do they mean by that? Thank you in advance for a rapid response.

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 17:00
English to German
+ ...
Weighted charges for match percentages Mar 30, 2004

Hi Terese,
What they ask for is a reduced weighting depending on match percentages analysed against a reference TM delivered by your client.

You will find quite a few threads on this subject if you search for "fuzzy match".

You should be aware of the pitfalls in this - whether or not a weighted charging scheme is fair depends on a number of factors, including the quality of the delivered TM, as well as the structure and format of the document.

To be very honest, I doubt if it's a wise move to agree to such a scheme before you have acquired a thorough understanding of the dynamics involved. In my experience, one can use weighted charging schemes to generate profitable business, provided that you're able to gauge the impact.

Best regards, Ralf

Matt Baird
Germany
German to English
Thanks Ralf Mar 31, 2004

You should be aware of the pitfalls in this - whether or not a weighted charging scheme is fair depends on a number of factors, including the quality of the delivered TM, as well as the structure and format of the document.

To be very honest, I doubt if it's a wise move to agree to such a scheme before you have acquired a thorough understanding of the dynamics involved. In my experience, one can use weighted charging schemes to generate profitable business, provided that you're able to gauge the impact.

Hi Ralf,