Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 08:09
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
May 19, 2004

Customer sent a dozen ttx-files, which include the chapters of a user manual. I have never used TagEditor before (Trados Freelance 5.5). First of all it is difficult to guess how much there is to translate, so I do not know how much time it wil take.
Is it possible to do a fast count of the untranslated segments? How do I know what to charge?
Second problem is, I always let a second person correct my translations, but therefor I need to clean up the translated files and combine them
... See more
Customer sent a dozen ttx-files, which include the chapters of a user manual. I have never used TagEditor before (Trados Freelance 5.5). First of all it is difficult to guess how much there is to translate, so I do not know how much time it wil take.
Is it possible to do a fast count of the untranslated segments? How do I know what to charge?
Second problem is, I always let a second person correct my translations, but therefor I need to clean up the translated files and combine them into one Wordfile, since editors do not want to use Trados (do not have it) and opening every one of a dozen files just takes to much time.
How should I proceed?
Collapse

Per Riise (X)
Per Riise (X)  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 07:09
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Using Tag Editor May 19, 2004

Word count is done using the analysis function in the WorkBench. As for the second part of your Q, I think you'll have to use the Save Target-function (which converts the document into its original format). From there I guess you'll have to cut and paste the text into a .doc-file, or similar.

There may be other (and better) solutions to your questions, but this is what I can think of off-hand.

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Cut and paste depends on the source format May 19, 2004