https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/23258-registering_trados_freelance_65_doesnt_work.html

Registering TRADOS Freelance 6.5 doesn't work....
Thread poster: Annika Neudecker
Annika Neudecker
Annika Neudecker  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:18
English to German
Jul 25, 2004

Dear colleagues,

I'm a TRADOS newbie. I installed my copy about a week ago, and I'm still at the "I'm playing around to see what happens" stage.

Somehow I came across "Registering TRADOS" under Start > Programme (this is German, so it might be programs/program files in English) > TRADOS Freelance 6.5 > Register TRADOS.

I clicked on that (to see what would happen!) and here's what happened:

A DOS window popped up and it started reading...
... See more
Dear colleagues,

I'm a TRADOS newbie. I installed my copy about a week ago, and I'm still at the "I'm playing around to see what happens" stage.

Somehow I came across "Registering TRADOS" under Start > Programme (this is German, so it might be programs/program files in English) > TRADOS Freelance 6.5 > Register TRADOS.

I clicked on that (to see what would happen!) and here's what happened:

A DOS window popped up and it started reading...

Registering TRADOS components...
Registering the Filter Framework...
Registering TM Anywhere....

Then an error message popped up saying:
"regsvr32.exe"

When I closed the error window, the following appeared in the DOS window:

Registering Trados Applications....

And then the window just shut down.

I don't have an old version installed. Just this new one. I'm still learning the ropes, and everything seems to work fine (even without registering it...). That is to say: I just *think* it needs to be registered on my computer...doesn't it?

Your input would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,

Annika

[Edited at 2004-07-25 19:29]
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Sounds "as designed" to me Jul 25, 2004

Hi Annika,