Thread poster: Apolonia Vanova
Apolonia Vanova
Apolonia Vanova  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 03:51
English to Slovak
+ ...
Nov 7, 2004

I am new to Trados 6.5.5 My third attempt to download and install was successful.
I am trying to follow the "tutorial" and the downloaded "User Guide" which is very difficult to follow. First, I am working on the "MultiTerm Convert"; (this is what the tutorial is telling me to do.)
1/ When I try to select the "Template" from the Trados 6.5.5 file for the Input File, Output File, Termbase Definition file and Log File nothing is happening. What am I to convert here? What am I doing wr
... See more
I am new to Trados 6.5.5 My third attempt to download and install was successful.
I am trying to follow the "tutorial" and the downloaded "User Guide" which is very difficult to follow. First, I am working on the "MultiTerm Convert"; (this is what the tutorial is telling me to do.)
1/ When I try to select the "Template" from the Trados 6.5.5 file for the Input File, Output File, Termbase Definition file and Log File nothing is happening. What am I to convert here? What am I doing wrong?
2/ How do I go to successfully use this software? Please help, thank you,
Apolonia Vanova
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 09:51
English to German
+ ...
Start with Workbench, not with MultiTerm Nov 8, 2004

Hi Apolonia,

You did not mention your operating system - would this be Windows XP? If you tried unzipping the downloaded file using the WinXP utility, that would create problems.

Which tutorial? I would suggest to start with Workbench (the first Tuturial in "New to Trados"), leaving terminology recognition aside for the time being.

Assuming you're working in Word, have a look at the relevant chapter in the File Formats Reference Guide, which outlines the workflow.