Segmentation issues in WinAlign
Thread poster: piotrsut
piotrsut
piotrsut  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:58
English to Polish
+ ...
Dec 4, 2004

Hi, I'm new to Trados, and not particularly fond of it at all, but what can you do. I can live with it, and I now use it on larger projects, even if I don't have to.

The problem I have is with winalign - it would be very useful for the long-term projects I now want to TM-enhance, but the segmentation it gives me is rubbish. Both languages have the same full stop options etc., but where I get a single sentence in a segment on one side, there is a whole paragraph on the other. This is
... See more
Hi, I'm new to Trados, and not particularly fond of it at all, but what can you do. I can live with it, and I now use it on larger projects, even if I don't have to.

The problem I have is with winalign - it would be very useful for the long-term projects I now want to TM-enhance, but the segmentation it gives me is rubbish. Both languages have the same full stop options etc., but where I get a single sentence in a segment on one side, there is a whole paragraph on the other. This is unworkable! The same happened even where there were identical paragraphs in source and target docs (the source had some sentences already translated in it). Still, they got segmented differently.
Some people in the forum said it did work, so is there anything I may be doing wrong?

Thanks for help,

Piotr

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2004-12-04 07:03]
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Works very well for me Dec 4, 2004

Hi Piotr,
Before I respond to your post, I would like to ask you how you prepared for working with Trados. Did you go through the Tutorials? Did you have a look at the manuals?

I have been using WinAlign for years, and I'm particularly happy with WinAlign 6.x.