Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Does it EVER work in Word without problems?
Thread poster: Marinus Vesseur
Marinus Vesseur
Marinus Vesseur  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 10:35
English to Dutch
+ ...
Dec 18, 2004

Dear colleagues. I have been working with Trados for 3 months now and must say that I haven't yet seen what good it does for me as a translator. The implementation in Word is horrifically bad. EVERY document in Word has caused problems and error messages. "End of paragraph not found" "Cannot convert to RTF", that sort of thing, peferably in the middle of a translation. I recommend anyone to convert your doc to rtf FIRST! If that works, you might as well use TagEditor in the Trados suite. This wo... See more
Dear colleagues. I have been working with Trados for 3 months now and must say that I haven't yet seen what good it does for me as a translator. The implementation in Word is horrifically bad. EVERY document in Word has caused problems and error messages. "End of paragraph not found" "Cannot convert to RTF", that sort of thing, peferably in the middle of a translation. I recommend anyone to convert your doc to rtf FIRST! If that works, you might as well use TagEditor in the Trados suite. This works reliaby at least. I suspect that the bad quality of Microsoft products has something to do with it, nevertheless I am thinking of testing Wordfast to see if the problems are less. I am surprised how such an expensive product as Trados can be so unprofessionally made. It's all marketing, or, as the local saying goes: "manure" in a gift wrapping. I hope you have more positive experiences with it but I am so fed up, I just had to let off steam here.