JW Narins
JW Narins  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:43
Member (2015)
Russian to English
+ ...
Nov 20, 2015

Hello! I'm trying to make segmentation do what I want. I'm new to this.

I see that segmentation is set in each separate TM, not in Studio overall.

For a chosen TM, when editing the Full Stop Rule in advanced view, I see that there's a code for each thing that will be recognized as a segment ending. (Why those codes are better than something immediately understandable I can't imagine, but leave that aside.)

Questions:
1) Is there a list of these codes
... See more

For a chosen TM, when editing the Full Stop Rule in advanced view, I see that there's a code for each thing that will be recognized as a segment ending. (Why those codes are better than something immediately understandable I can't imagine, but leave that aside.)

Questions:
1) Is there a list of these codes somewhere I can refer to so I can see what I'm doing here?

2) Is there a list of available rules, like the Full Stop Rule, that actually tells me exactly what they consist of? That would be nice!

2) Can I take something like hard line breaks out of my segmentation rules to avoid the problem where you can't unite segments over a paragraph break? Or, in other words, can I take their idea of a paragraph break out of segmentation and just have end-of-sentence markers? I can always split a segment, after all.

Thanks in advance!
Collapse

Erik Freitag
Erik Freitag  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:43
Member (2006)
Dutch to German
+ ...
Some answers and hints Nov 21, 2015

Dear JW,

JW Narins wrote: