https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/30914-alphanumeric_combination_recognition.html

alphanumeric combination recognition
Thread poster: hschl
hschl
hschl  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:19
English to German
+ ...
Mar 31, 2005

Hello,

I am working on a spare parts list for electrical components (12000 lines) in Excel. Most lines are expressed similar to: "Switch VS722 6GF1 722-0AA" (this is the part number). Working in Tag Editor 6.5, the complete Excel cell is called up, so even having 155 switches, the alphnumeric part number needs to be changed/recognised every time over. How can I adjust the Trados settings, that "words" with numbers are carried over? I have been using Trados for a few years, but never
... See more
Hello,

I am working on a spare parts list for electrical components (12000 lines) in Excel. Most lines are expressed similar to: "Switch VS722 6GF1 722-0AA" (this is the part number). Working in Tag Editor 6.5, the complete Excel cell is called up, so even having 155 switches, the alphnumeric part number needs to be changed/recognised every time over. How can I adjust the Trados settings, that "words" with numbers are carried over? I have been using Trados for a few years, but never really had to adjust settings for such an application. I guess another option is to do a find/replace in Excel directly...

Any help is appreciated (this might even be an easy one?)

Ta,

Henrik
Collapse

Tekkie (X)
Tekkie (X)
English to German
+ ...
A problem with TRADOS but not with SDLX Mar 31, 2005

Henrik Schlieker wrote:

How can I adjust the Trados settings, that "words" with numbers are carried over? I have been using Trados for a few years, but never really had to adjust settings for such an application. I guess another option is to do a find/replace in Excel directly...