Mobile menu

How do I translate this document if this is my first time and I have no previous tmw files?
Thread poster: Vanessa Rivera Rivier

Vanessa Rivera Rivier  Identity Verified
Puerto Rico
Local time: 15:05
Italian to English
+ ...
May 24, 2005

Hello everybody. I'm new to Trados and I have to translate a word document using it! I have no translation memory files nor do I have and idea how to get them, plus I don't have Multiterm to import or create tmw files. My question would be: How do I translate this document if this is my first time and I have no previous tmw files? I know my question is probably stupid, but I'm completely clueless!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2005-05-24 15:47]

Direct link Reply with quote

Lindsay Sabadosa  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:05
Member (2004)
Italian to English
+ ...
Trados Can't Do it All May 24, 2005

While I am in no way, shape or form a Trados expert, I do know that Trados merely memorizes what you translate; it does not offer translations on its own. The first time you use it, it may (if you're lucky) offer a word here or there from Multiterm but other than that it will just memorize what you plug in. If you have any full matches or partial matches (from what you have already entered), it will offer those as you work. My suggestion: check out the Trados tutorial. I loved it and it kind of gives you an idea of what to expect. Also, read through the manual. It's actually helpful and worth the half hour or so. Trados should become more useful the more you use it. Don't expect miracles the first time around. Good luck and have fun!!

Matt Baird
Germany
Local time: 21:05
German to English
Check out the tutorials May 24, 2005

I agree with LSabadosa. The tutorials are very helpful, especially if you learn better visually as I do.