Thread poster: Silvina Jover-Cirillo
Silvina Jover-Cirillo
United States
Local time: 20:44
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 3, 2005

Hi everybody!!!

I know this probably will sound as a silly question, but I'm new at Trados.

Even though none of my clients requested it, I've been translating with Trados 7 Freelance for the past month.

Now, I'm about to start this big project with a new client and, of course, he wants me to use Trados.

Talking about rates, the contract says the following:

The rates for Repetitions Match, Fuzzy Match and No Match, regardless of the software used for translation, will be:

a) 25% of the full rate for Repetition.
b) 50% of the full rate for Fuzzy Matches and;
c) 100% of the full rate for no Matches.

OK. So, how do I do this? How do I invoice this? How do I know the final word count to be able to provide my client with the proper word count.

Thanks for all the help!!!!

Direct link Reply with quote

Local time: 02:44
Member (2003)
English to Danish
+ ...
Analyse the files with Workbench Aug 3, 2005

When you receive the files from the client you do this:

*Open Workbench
*Choose 'Tools' - 'Analyse'
*Then add the files and click 'Analyse'

The total analysis (repetitions, 100% matches, fuzzy matches and no matches) is then listed in the bottom right of the screen.

I usually print this out, make the calculation and note something like "Trados rates" total: xxx on my invoice.

Good luck.

Rahi Moosavi  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:44
Partial member (2004)
Farsi (Persian) to English
+ ...
Example Aug 3, 2005

Here is an example:

Either the client has given you a TM set or you have to create a blank TM for your project. Analyze the files (i.e. source word files or other types of files) you have in Trados Workbench