AdobeInDesign
Thread poster: Antoní­n Otáhal

Antoní­n Otáhal
Local time: 21:27
Member (2005)
English to Czech
+ ...
Sep 12, 2005

A client sent me a pdf file for translation; in its Document Properties I can see it was created with AdobeInDesign CS (3.0).

I have no experience with such format, but if I go back to them and tell them that direct translation of InDesign files by Trados TagEdiotr is possible and preferable, (i) what exactly do I have to get from them; and (ii) are there any "traps" I should know about before going into an attempt to persuade them? (I have Trados 7.0.0.615)

Obviously, I cannot rely on their experience in this field too much - if they had a lot of it, they would not be likely to send out a pdf file for translation...

Any advice will be appreciated.

Antonin

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxBrandis
English to German
+ ...
you need .isc files Sep 12, 2005

Hi! request your outsourcer to export all the text content using a trados plug-in for indesign to an .isc (indesign story collector) you can then process this file and send a bilingual or clean and send the target back Best regards, Brandis

Hynek Palatin  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Member (2003)
English to Czech
+ ...
File Formats Reference Guide Sep 12, 2005

The whole procedure is described in the Trados File Formats Reference Guide, which is part of the Trados documentation.

Carlotta Minozzi  Identity Verified
Italy
Italian to English
+ ...
Sysfilter for InDesign Sep 13, 2005