https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/39843-what_is_trados_and_how_does_it_work.html

What is Trados and how does it work?
Thread poster: Maaike van Vlijmen
Maaike van Vlijmen
Maaike van Vlijmen  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 18:22
Member (2009)
Italian to Dutch
+ ...
Dec 4, 2005

Hi all,
I have a "stupid" question...
I'm a beginning translator and I don't understand what Trados exactly is and does. I went to the internet site of Trados, but I just don't seem to get it. Can anybody tell me in simple words what it is and how it makes your life as a translator easier?
Thanks!

ENGSOL
ENGSOL
German to English
+ ...
What is Trados and how does it work? Dec 4, 2005

Maaike Anne wrote:

Hi all,
I have a "stupid" question...
I'm a beginning translator and I don't understand what Trados exactly is and does. I went to the internet site of Trados, but I just don't seem to get it. Can anybody tell me in simple words what it is and how it makes your life as a translator easier?
Thanks!

Hi Maaike,

I don't use Trados so I can't tell you much about the program! It's a CAT tool, I know that much.

Here's a short Introduction to CAT tools on the ProZ.com site.

Alternatively, you could check out this Wikipedia article on Computer-assisted translation.

That should cover some of the basics!

Thomas

[Edited at 2005-12-04 16:32]

Peter Bouillon
Peter Bouillon  Identity Verified
Germany
French to German
+ ...
CAT software Dec 4, 2005

Maaike Anne wrote:
I'm a beginning translator and I don't understand what Trados exactly is and does.

You fire it up and feed it the document you translate. It opens up a frame with the first sentence to translate at the top; you type the translation of that sentence below. You then pass on to the next sentence, which will be presented to you in a similar way.