https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/39859-hiding_translated_segments.html

Hiding translated segments
Thread poster: Paige Stanton (X)
Paige Stanton (X)
Paige Stanton (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:16
French to English
Dec 4, 2005

I am a TRADOS beginner and am working on a translation using it. For some reason I now can see the original text and the translation in my document with the tags whereas I only want to see the translation as I go. How do I fix this? I tried clicking on the paragraph icon in Word but that doesn't work. Thanks so much in advance for you help!

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Moving the thread... Dec 4, 2005

...to Trados Support - please use this forum to post Trados-related topics.

This issue has been discussed on numerous occasions; an explanation on how to access the relevant setting is here. You didn't mention which language version of Word you're using - in the English version, it's under Tools - Options.

However, it is strongly recommended to keep
... See more
...to Trados Support - please use this forum to post Trados-related topics.

This issue has been discussed on numerous occasions; an explanation on how to access the relevant setting is here. You didn't mention which language version of Word you're using - in the English version, it's under Tools - Options.

However, it is strongly recommended to keep both source and target visible, to avoid damaging any tags.

Best regards,
Ralf
Collapse

awilliams
awilliams
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:16
Italian to English
+ ...
Tools; Options; Hidden text Dec 4, 2005

Hi there,
Go to the tools menu in Word, go to Options and then make sure the "Hidden text" box is deselected.
Hope that helps!

Paige Stanton (X)
Paige Stanton (X)  Identity Verified
French to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you! Dec 4, 2005

Amy, thank you for this!

I apologize for asking the same question; next time I will search for the topic before posting.