Mobile menu

Step by Step instruction to import TM, please?
Thread poster: Rayindra

Rayindra  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 22:17
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Apr 29, 2006

Hello friends!
I am a rookie in the confusing Trados World, after 15 years in the Tradisional Translation World.

I can start a translation project, but I'm blank when the client sent me the previous TM. I have tried to import the previous TM, but the comment is "Invalid".

The version I use is Trados 7 Freelancer.
The previous TM is in .TXT and Excel document.

Any step-by-step instruction out there? I don't understand the manual Trados gave me - too complicated for beginners.

Thank you..!!

Direct link Reply with quote

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 11:17
English to French
+ ...
Here goes... Apr 29, 2006

Hello,

First off, the Excel file cannot be imported as it is.

The text file can be imported as follows:

First, either create a blank memory or open the existing memory you would like to import to. In the latter case, you will have to specify whether you want to overwrite existing TUs (translation units) with the ones you are importing (only 100% matches are overwritten), whether you want to reorganize the memory, etc. I usually keep the existing memory as it is and only add the imported memory to it without any modification, and that is what I strongly recommend doing if you are new to this, in order to prevent any loss of original TUs.

Next, you specify the text file you want to import and click OK. The new memory should be imported now.

The only two situations I see where there could be a problem in this operation are these:
- The memory you are trying to import was made with Trados 7.1 or 7.5, which are more recent versions than yours. Even so, it should only fail if the memory you are importing is using features present in the recent versions of Trados, which were not yet present in 7.0.