Question On SDL Trados Wbch > Accessing File>SetUp...?
Thread poster: Pacifica
Pacifica
Pacifica
United States
Local time: 04:51
English to French
+ ...
May 19, 2006

Hi,

I am a newbie in SDL Trados 2006. In other words, sorry in advance for this silly question.

I am trying to acccess the Setup option in the Trados workbench File menu. I would like to apply fields to filter my TUs.

It looks like this option, as well as Import and Export, is always grey and not accessible.

I tried to open a TM or open a file for translation just to have this option activated, but still no luck.

Can you tell me ho
... See more
Hi,

I am a newbie in SDL Trados 2006. In other words, sorry in advance for this silly question.

I am trying to acccess the Setup option in the Trados workbench File menu. I would like to apply fields to filter my TUs.

It looks like this option, as well as Import and Export, is always grey and not accessible.

I tried to open a TM or open a file for translation just to have this option activated, but still no luck.

Can you tell me how to access the Setup option?

Thanks in advance.

P.
Collapse

Olaf (X)
Olaf (X)
Local time: 13:51
English to German
You'll need to open the TM exclusively May 20, 2006

When you open the TM don't forget to enable the Exclusive check box at the bottom of the dialog box. This will enable the import and export options.

Vito Smolej
Vito Smolej
Germany
Local time: 13:51
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
I would like to apply fields to filter my TUs. May 20, 2006

First of all you must have the Translation Memory, you want to filter, opened. Second, you have to decide, how to filter:

o to a separate (txt) file? then you need to use Export.
o just to look at the filtered TUs (and change them possibly)? Use maintain.

Or am I missing something here?

Jerónimo Fernández
Jerónimo Fernández  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
+ ...
To access Setup... May 20, 2006

Hi Pacifica,