The difference between translation memory and termbase
Thread poster: hohun
hohun
hohun
English to French
Sep 16, 2006

Good morning,

I am new to Trados (I am trying the demo version) and I am trying to understand the difference between a termbase and a translation memory.

I am quite aware that a termbase is a glossary which, if I understand well what I found on the internet, is created with Multiterm. But then, what is the use of the translation memory that one can create with Translator's Workbench ? It seems useless to me, since the termbase already has the words and definitions.
... See more
Good morning,

I am new to Trados (I am trying the demo version) and I am trying to understand the difference between a termbase and a translation memory.

I am quite aware that a termbase is a glossary which, if I understand well what I found on the internet, is created with Multiterm. But then, what is the use of the translation memory that one can create with Translator's Workbench ? It seems useless to me, since the termbase already has the words and definitions.

Would anyone explain to me what it is used for ?

Regards.
Collapse

Rafa Lombardino
Rafa Lombardino
United States
Local time: 08:43
Member (2005)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Translation memory: good for recurring / large jobs Sep 17, 2006

You'll pretty soon understand how useful translation memories are when you land a very large job full of repetitions. Here, it's not about isolated terms (MultiTerm's termbase does a pretty good job in that area), but about full sentences.

If you translate it once, you won't have to think hard to remember nor go looking for exactly what you used before. The translation memory will remember it for you and allow you to deliver a consistent and more professional job, while saving you
... See more