Mobile menu

Do you create one or many translation memories with Trados?
Thread poster: hugov
hugov
English to French
Oct 20, 2006

Hello,

I am a Trados newbie (I have Freelance 7.0) and I was wondering whether I should create one translation memory for each translation field or just one for everything I translate, or something else. I have exactly the same question for Multiterm : should I create one or many termbases? And why?

I was also wondering if the Trados compatibility issue is addressed somewhere in this forum. If so, can somebody tell me where? Someone sent me a .txt file (probably from Trados 6.5) that I cannot import because apparently Trados doesn't want its users of different versions to exchange translation memories.

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2006-10-20 18:02]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 19:19
English to German
+ ...
Text export/import possible regardless of version Oct 20, 2006

Hi Hugo,

I was also wondering if the Trados compatibility issue is addressed somewhere in this forum. If so, can somebody tell me where?

This was indeed discussed on numerous occasions; may I suggest you use the forum search.

Someone sent me a .txt file (probably from Trados 6.5) that I cannot import because apparently Trados doesn't want its users of different versions to exchange translation memories.

You should be careful about jumping to conclusions. It is possible to exchange text exports between different Trados versions.

Best regards,
Ralf


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Inga Jakobi  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 19:19
Member (2006)
Chinese to German
+ ...
Diefferent TM's and termbases! Oct 20, 2006

hugov wrote:

Hello,

I am a Trados newbie (I have Freelance 7.0) and I was wondering whether I should create one translation memory for each translation field or just one for everything I translate, or something else. I have exactly the same question for Multiterm : should I create one or many termbases? And why?



Hi,
in fact I am also a newbie, but I started creating different termbases for different fields and different TM's as well. I guess, otherwise they would grow huge. And if you have one TM and termbase for religion (e.g.), what use would it be when translating a user's manual? So far, I created TM's and related termbases for the different fields and customers because you also have to stick to the specific customers' terminology.
Regards,
Inga


Direct link Reply with quote
 
hugov
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
Hi Ralf Oct 20, 2006

I didn't exactly "jump to conclusions". I was told the compatibility issue was the reason why I can't import the file to my translation memory. So now I'm glad to know there might be a solution. Here is the message I get, by the way :

(The import file [FILE NAME] is invalid (no header found).

I have already searched the forum, but found no answer. What keywords should I use?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 19:19
English to German
+ ...
Check the import file Oct 20, 2006

Hi again,

I didn't exactly "jump to conclusions". I was told the compatibility issue was the reason why I can't import the file to my translation memory.

Well, that's different, of course....

I believe the statement is wrong. There may well be a problem with the import file, but I reiterate that different versions can exchange data using that route. In fact, using T7.0, you can open TMs created under T6.x (but not vice versa).

So now I'm glad to know there might be a solution. Here is the message I get, by the way :

(The import file [FILE NAME] is invalid (no header found).

Impossible to tell without checking the file.

I have already searched the forum, but found no answer. What keywords should I use?

I would start with "version compatibility".

Best regards,
Ralf


Direct link Reply with quote
 
hugov
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
But if we put things that other way... Oct 20, 2006

"And if you have one TM and termbase for religion (e.g.), what use would it be when translating a user's manual?"

But I am wondering is - to go on with your example - why bother creating and managing different translation memories if you can use just one? Religion and user manual translation fields could be in just one translation memory too. What are the downsides of this choice?

[Edited at 2006-10-20 18:44]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Fabio Scaliti  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 19:19
Member (2004)
German to Italian
+ ...
Trados? Or something else? Oct 20, 2006

Hallo Hugo,

it is impossible to tell without checking the .txt file, but are you sure that the txt was exported from a Trados TM?

Once I received a txt memory and tried to import it into a new Trados TM, but it didn't work, because the txt had been exported from Wordfast instead of Trados.

So I had to convert the txt into tmx with Wordstar. Then the import into Trados worked.

Please open the txt file with Notepad and check its first lines. If it reads something like:

%TU=00000989 %DE-CH %Wordfast TM v.5.25r/00 %IT-CH %---84045901

then it is obviously a Wordfast memory. In this case, you need to install Wordfast on your PC (it's free) and convert the txt into tmx.

Fabio


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Cecilia Falk  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:19
English to Swedish
Downside of mixing topics in TM Oct 21, 2006

Hello Hugo and Pirily,

There are several downside of mixing topics in a TM:
* If you (hopefully) get lots of assignments, and in different fields, the TM will soon be very big. The Concordance function is then of lesser and lesser use as there might be too many hits in the TM, and the ones that come up first might not be the relevant ones.
* Even if you are translating texts within the same field, let's say automobiles, you might have different customer with different preferred terminology.

However, when starting out it might be a good idea with just one TM. But then I think a proactive approach should be taken so that you easily can split the TM into several TMs later on. You do this by using Attributes. I would suggest at least two, called something like "Topic" and "Client". This means that in the future you can export all segments from the same client, or with the same topic, and create a new TM.

Then when you are starting to use the smaller, more specialized TM, you can still have access to the "master TM" by setting it as the reference TM for concordance searches. You could also keep feeding all your translations into the master TM after each assignment so you have access to them all the time.

Having said this, I find the concordance function quite limited, and I regulary export my TMs to text files and use other search utilities.

When importing a txt TM make sure that the language settings in the TM matches the import file (this is probably not the cause of your problem, just thought I should mention it).

Best regards,
Cecilia


[Edited at 2006-10-21 00:46]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Balasubramaniam L.  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 22:49
Member (2006)
English to Hindi
+ ...
My experience Oct 21, 2006

I am a newbie with Trados too, so I wouldn't offer any advice, just tell you how I am currently bungling along.

I have several clients and many of them have on-going sort of jobs or more-or-less clearly defined subject areas. For example, most of the jobs I receive from one client is medical in naure.

I have separate TMs for each client! Not a very efficient way of doing things this, but that is how it has come to be. May be later when I have time I will merge the TMs and create subjectwise TMs.

I too would like to know how more experienced Tradosers go about orginizing their TMs. And what is the upper limit for the size of TMs beyond which they become counter-productive, for example, slow down noticeably.


Direct link Reply with quote
 
xxxNMR
France
Local time: 19:19
French to Dutch
+ ...
One TM per end client Oct 21, 2006

Balasubramaniam wrote:
I too would like to know how more experienced Tradosers go about orginizing their TMs. And what is the upper limit for the size of TMs beyond which they become counter-productive, for example, slow down noticeably.

I use Wordfast, but the principle is the same. I work for several end clients, which each have their own terminology. So in the long run, having one TM for each end client works the best. If you have a big end client, you can have more, for instance XX-legal and XX-technical. Put all the TM's in one directory. This enables you to copy them quickly on another medium such as a memory stick or CD (the TMs are your working capital, save them regularly!!), and to make quick terminology searches (Ctrl + Alt + C in Wordfast). Later on, you can organize the TMs in different directories, for instance a legal directory and an automobile directory.
And don't forget that it is easy to combine directories for creating a background TM or other special purposes, but difficult to cut them in several parts.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Lawyer-Linguist  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 18:19
Dutch to English
+ ...
My approach Oct 21, 2006

Hi,

I can only talk for myself and the languages/fields I translate in but maybe this approach will give you a couple of pointers.

1. Separate TMs for different language pairs (pretty obvious)

2. Separate TMs for different fields (e.g. law, general business, financial)

3. Taking law as my main field, my various TMs under Dutch to English, for example, include:

Contract Law

Telecommunications Law

Company Law

Law of Succession

etc.

4. Under contract law, I have separate TMs for commercial leases, employment contracts, tenders in various fields, etc. Under law of succession, I have separate TMs for wills, academic opinions on deceased estates, under company law for articles of association, shareholders' agreements etc, and so it goes on........

5. If a particular client (XXX) has special terminology preferences for tunnel construction tenders, for example, then the TM would be Dutch_Law_Contract Law_Tender_XXX

Afterwards, I make a point of exporting a copy of the XXX TM into my more general tender TM, so that TM benefits from entries that are not client-specific.

I don't like TMs created solely for specific clients without reference to subject area. I find it more effective for concordance searches to make the relevant subject area the most important criterion in the "directory".

Think of the way you'd organise folders on your computer and take it from there.


Hope it helps
D




[Edited at 2006-10-21 19:55]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Kirill Semenov  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 20:19
Member (2004)
English to Russian
+ ...
Individual TMs for each client Oct 21, 2006

I usually create individual TMs for each client. Sometimes the subject fields overlap, but many clients ask me to deliver my TMs, so I don't want to merge them. If there are several TMs for different clients but the same subject, I usually use other TMs as additional (reference TMs), but add new units/segments only to the current TM.

[Edited at 2006-10-21 13:42]


Direct link Reply with quote
 
hugov
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
And what about Multiterm? Oct 22, 2006

Thank you everyone,

This gives me a good idea of how I'll organize my TMs. I will have a separate translation memories for every client, I guess.

Now what should I do with Multiterm? I suppose I should have a different termbase for every client, but I would also like to have a separate main termbase to use it as a read-only main termbase. Is it possible to do that? How? Can I find a topic on this forum on the matter?

Edit:

I just found this:

"Seven Highlights of TRADOS 7

[...]

Use of multiple termbases in active terminology recognition. When used with TRADOS MultiTerm 7 Term Desktop, Translator's Workbench can now search multiple termbases and display recognized terms."

(http://www.trados.com/products.asp?page=1852)

I do have Trados 7, but I don't have Multiterm 7 (I have version ix). Does it really means there is no way at all of using more than one termbase at the same time?

[Edited at 2006-10-22 01:13]

[Edited at 2006-10-22 01:23]


Direct link Reply with quote
 
hugov
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
Oups... Oct 23, 2006

I just noticed I can't modify a post 24 hours after posting it. If that was possible, I would erase my last post and tell people instead they can find it somewhere else (http://www.proz.com/topic/58136) because there were so many questions I asked in the same post. This is why I created this new one.

[Edited at 2006-10-23 17:12]


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Do you create one or many translation memories with Trados?

Advanced search


Translation news related to SDL Trados





Anycount & Translation Office 3000
Translation Office 3000

Translation Office 3000 is an advanced accounting tool for freelance translators and small agencies. TO3000 easily and seamlessly integrates with the business life of professional freelance translators.

More info »
Across v6.3
Translation Toolkit and Sales Potential under One Roof

Apart from features that enable you to translate more efficiently, the new Across Translator Edition v6.3 comprises your crossMarket membership. The new online network for Across users assists you in exploring new sales potential and generating revenue.

More info »



All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs