https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/60770-translating_multiple_repetitions_in_tageditor.html

translating multiple repetitions in tageditor
Thread poster: Steven Smith
Steven Smith
Steven Smith
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:08
Member (2007)
Japanese to English
Dec 1, 2006

(Apologies for this basic question; I am new to Trados and couldn't find an answer to this in the documentation.)

I am translating excel files in tageditor with multiple repetitions of headings, etc. At the moment, I translate a term, which goes into the TM, then when I click 'set/close next open/get' it will take me to the next instance of that term and offer the translation. But I have to do this for every repetition - and there are hundreds in these files! Find and replace doesn'
... See more
(Apologies for this basic question; I am new to Trados and couldn't find an answer to this in the documentation.)

I am translating excel files in tageditor with multiple repetitions of headings, etc. At the moment, I translate a term, which goes into the TM, then when I click 'set/close next open/get' it will take me to the next instance of that term and offer the translation. But I have to do this for every repetition - and there are hundreds in these files! Find and replace doesn't seem to work. Is there a way to automate this?

Thanks

Steven Smith
Collapse

Marta Fernandez-Suarez (X)
Marta Fernandez-Suarez (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to Spanish
maybe Dec 1, 2006

I hope someone can correct me if I am not right.

If you do not know which segments are going to be repeated later on in the file, I don't think there is a solution for what you want. In SDLX you have an Autopropagate function that, if activated, translates any repeated segment that appears later on, as soon as you validate its translation; but there is no such thing in Trados.

What you can do in Trados is translate the file automatically with what you have in your m
... See more