Mobile menu

Before buying Trados 2006, some questions...
Thread poster: japz20
japz20
Local time: 12:39
English
Jan 10, 2007

Hey. I'm pretty new with this. I downloaded the 2006 demo version yesterday and I encountered the same problems (Multiterm is not running, etc.) as some other guys did. Anyway to make the long story short I used
the demo to translate from Japanese to English, and the file I worked on was an Excel file.

Question though, before our company decides to buy the software:

1. First, I copied the Excel cells into Word and translated there because the Trados toolbar only shows up in Word, which will prove to be very tedious as we have tens upon thousands of pages to translate in Excel. I was using Trados Workbench 7.5.0.756 Build 756. Is there any way around this? Or does the Trados toolbar really only appear in Word?

2. Then I tried using the T-Window for Clipboard tool, which (as I understood it) acted as an intermediary between the Trados Workbench and MS Excel. Again very tedious, since T-Window does not allow
copying and pasting during translation. Any way around this?

3. The demo version does not include Multiterm. What exactly are the benefits of purchasing Trados for access to Multiterm? From what I understand, it is a repository for terms with corresponding translations. In
the demo version I created a TM, isn't that the same thing? I was hoping Multiterm is a dictionary of some sort, which maybe could lead to...

4. Automatic translation in Trados? Is there? Or do you really have to create the Multiterm termbase from scratch?

Btw I'm really not at all proficient in Japanese, I use external software (IBM King) to do translation and I copy and paste the translation into Trados (which I couldn't do using T-Window.) Anyway sorry for all the questions. I really want to understand what I'm doing here before I suggest we buy Trados to my boss. Thank you so much for your help!

Jamie

Direct link Reply with quote