Mobile menu

New to Trados - How many memories shall I create?
Thread poster: CDenisot
CDenisot
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:20
English to French
+ ...
Feb 5, 2007

Hello everyone!

I am completely new to Trados and just taking my very first steps so please forgive me if my questions might sound stupid to the more experienced Translators!! I have aligned some texts and created memories but would like to know how is everyone else doing. Do you create a memory per translation, per area of specialization, per client? And what would be the disadvantages (if any) of creating only one big memory in which to save all translations done previously rather than lots of different and smaller memories? Many thanks for your suggestions!

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 20:20
English to German
+ ...
Moving the topic... Feb 5, 2007

...to SDL Trados Support.

Best regards,
Ralf

Niina Lahokoski  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 21:20
Member (2008)
English to Finnish
+ ...
Client or project Feb 5, 2007

Hi,

I usually have one TM per client, if the jobs are usually in the same subject area. I also have separate TMs for big or recurring projects. Of course the client (I work for agencies only) may wish me to create a TM for a specific project or end client etc.

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
I create one TM for each case Feb 5, 2007

That usually means one TM for each separate court case, which works pretty well.

In the case of the agencies, there are some agencies which send me all the translations for one particular client of theirs, so then I have a special TM for that client.

I also have one for CVs (wherever they come from), one for trademark print-outs (wherever they come from), and so on.

Relatively small translation memories are easier to maintain. Also, if a TM becomes corrupt, for any reason, you do not want it to have absolutely everything in it!