Suzanne Deveson  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 02:43
Member (2007)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Mar 17, 2007

Hi all,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to working with Tag Editor and although the client has explained the basics, I keep getting error messages about spacing differences. I can't seem to discover these spacing differences. If there are double spaces in the source text I suppose I should keep these the same in the target? But even if I do this, the message does not disappear, even if I close the screen and click 'verify' again. Do these spacing differences refer to spacing differences just before or after a tag or between 'normal' text? I can see it gives you the exact location in the error message, but when I double click on the message to get me to the exact location it usually stops just before or after a tag, and I can't detect any spacing differences there. I would be most grateful for any help you might be able to offer.

[Edited at 2007-03-17 21:42]

Direct link Reply with quote

Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
"spacing differences"? Mar 17, 2007

I can't detect any spacing differences there. I would be most grateful for any help you might be able to offer.

I'm just curious - spacing differences?? Is that the expression popping up with the error, or is it its translation? When do you get this message - in the Verify? Or when opening the file? When opening/closing a segment? All segments or just some of them? What happens if you copy in the source and then close the segment?

What does the Verify say - is it a serious or just an informative error? May be you're (unnecessarily) too strict - see Tools/options/Verification.

Regards

Netherlands
Member (2007)
English to Dutch
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Yes - that's exactly what the verification message says. Mar 18, 2007