Thread poster: Monica Tuduce

Monica Tuduce  Identity Verified
Luxembourg
Local time: 20:38
Partial member
Italian to Romanian
+ ...
Mar 31, 2007

I have the localization problem of numbers in Trados.
I have read the threads about it, but I did not found my specific case and I am not a macro expert.
The problem is: I have already translated a big document, with tables containing lot of numbers (without any digit grouping symbol, i.e. 2 555), that Trados considered as placeable and non translatable segments, so it skipped all of them. Those numbers are on more columns.
Trados did localize all other numbers, in translatable segments.
I finished translating the document and I have to replace all those numbers, localizing them in Romanian, with "dot" as separating symbol 2 555 should become 2.555).
I found a idea on this post:
http://www.proz.com/post/215048#215048
but the macro replaces all commas between two numerals with dots
and I need to replace space with a dot.

Thank you for any suggestion.

[Edited at 2007-03-31 22:13]

Direct link Reply with quote

Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
A global search and Replace in word? Mar 31, 2007

I have to replace all those numbers, localizing them in Romanian, with "dot" as separating symbol 2 555 should become 2.555

using Global S&R in word with...

source: ^#(space)^#^#^#

target: ^#.^#^#^#

would do it - I dont think you would need TRADOS for this kind of editing,

Regards

smo

Riccardo Schiaffino  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:38
Member (2003)
English to Italian
+ ...
Use wildcard searches in MS Word Apr 1, 2007

You can use (with the appropriate care) the fairly powerful wildcard search function in MS Word.

For more details, please see the following two articles of mine (from my blog About Translation):

- How to use wildcard and format searches in MSWord to make sure all your numbers are formatted correctly

- Another Useful Wildcard Search