Mobile menu

Pretranslate function not found in TW (Trados)
Thread poster: Ulozas
Ulozas
Luxembourg
Local time: 16:19
Lithuanian to Latvian
+ ...
Jul 12, 2007

Dear All,

I'm new in Translator's Workbench, though quite "old" in DejaVu. As I have to use TW at work, I try to transfer the best practices I had as a freelancer on DejaVu. So, what I miss and haven't found (yet, hopefully) is a pretranslation function. I need to select two words in the source and two in the translation and make them be pretranslated even if they are inside a segment and no usable match is found in the old database. What should I do? Is that possible?

Thanks.

Direct link Reply with quote

Annelise Meyer  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
pre-translating in Trados Jul 12, 2007

Hi,
I am not sure I understand right, but here is the process to pre-translate a file in TWB: open the TM, then go to Tools\Translate. Once there, browse to select the file to pre-translate and click Translate. You can check the box "Segment unknown sentences" so the whole file is pre-translated (I found it is useful to pre-translate a file, even when there is no match: it can help avoid opening issues later on...). There you are! Hope it helps (and answers your initial query...)
Cheers

Ulozas
Luxembourg
Lithuanian to Latvian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
pre-translating in Trados (inside of the segments!) Jul 12, 2007

Bonjour, Annelise,