Powerpoint and Trados
Thread poster: briski

briski  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 23:05
Italian to French
+ ...
Aug 10, 2007

I have a PPT file and would like to work on it using Trados. Is it possible?

I know that I have to use Tag editor..but could someone tell me how? I have never done it before, and now i would really be useful

Thanks

[Edited at 2007-08-10 09:19]

Direct link Reply with quote

Darius Porebski
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Of course Aug 10, 2007

Most simple: Open the document using Trados TagEditor, voilà! Ready for translation.

Regards

Wilmer Brouwer
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Documentation Aug 10, 2007

I have also not done it using Trados yet, but I did find an explanation in the documentation for Trados 2007. I fyou have that version go to the "file formats reference guide" (a PDF file) it has a section on translating PPT documents. You can find it in start>programs>SDL international>SDL Trados 2007 Freelance> Documentation (if you have used the normal installation)

[Edited at 2007-08-10 09:42]

Lily Zhang  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 06:05
English to Chinese
+ ...
my solution Aug 10, 2007

Briski,

You can first run Trados Workbench. Open Tools-->Translate-->Add, and click the "Translate" tab. By this, you can get a .ttx file. Then you will run Workbench and Tageditor. Open the .ttx file in Tageditor. Use Tageditor as the MS window when you handle a WORD file. After finish the translation, clean up the .ttx file. You will see the target language is incorprated into the PPT file. However, you may have to review the file and format it from time to time.

Hope this helps.

Lily

Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:05
Spanish to English
+ ...
It works relatively well Aug 10, 2007

There are two main issues to worry about.