Mobile menu

How do I create a tag settings file for Tag Editor?
Thread poster: Nora Diaz

Nora Diaz  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 21:18
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 16, 2007

I'm new to creating tag settings files, so I'll try to explain myself as best I can.

A client has sent me an xml file where the text looks like this:

The parts in quotation marks, namely "130" and "Use Data" are the parts I need to translate.

When attempting to open the file, Tag Editor says "This document contains the unknown DOCTYPE delcaration/root element "DEGEM_Translation". A tag settings file has not yet been defined for this document type. Would you like to specify the settings file now?"

I click yes, then New, but then I have no idea what I should do. My attempts have resulted in an "all tag" file, where the entire text is seen as part of the tag.

Is it possible to create tag settings to isolate the text I need to translate?

Can someone with experience in this please walk me through the process?

Thanks in advance,

Nora

Direct link Reply with quote

Satu Ilva  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 06:18
English to Finnish
+ ...
Example doesn't show Oct 17, 2007

It would be easier if I could see your example

In general, you can start the definition when you have nothing open in TagEditor by selecting Tools/Tag Settings, then New. In the wizard you will be given the option to import settings, if you are working with an xml file you can just let the program scan the tags and then define later in the wizard how they should be treated. You need a root element (the first tag that encloses the entire file), but the scan will attempt to pick that for you anyway.

If I could see the example I could tell you if there are likely to be any more complications...

Mexico
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Oops! Oct 17, 2007

Hi, Satu,

I didn't realize the example was MIA. I copy/pasted it before, so I'll retype it and hope it shows this time: