How do I create a tag setting for tag editor for Indesign files
Thread poster: Golden shuttle
Golden shuttle
Golden shuttle
Local time: 18:56
English to Chinese
Nov 5, 2007

I'm new to creat tag settings files, so I'll try to explain myself as best I can.
When I use tag editor to open indesign file (indd),Tag Editor says "This document contains the unknown DOCTYPE delcaration/root element "DEGEM_Translation". A tag settings file has not yet been defined for this document type. Would you like to specify the settings file now?"

I click yes, then New, but then I have no idea what I should do. My attempts have resulted in an "all tag" file, where the
... See more
I'm new to creat tag settings files, so I'll try to explain myself as best I can.
When I use tag editor to open indesign file (indd),Tag Editor says "This document contains the unknown DOCTYPE delcaration/root element "DEGEM_Translation". A tag settings file has not yet been defined for this document type. Would you like to specify the settings file now?"

I click yes, then New, but then I have no idea what I should do. My attempts have resulted in an "all tag" file, where the entire text is seen as part of the tag.

Is it possible to create tag settings to isolate the text I need to translate?

[Edited at 2007-11-05 03:58]

[Edited at 2007-11-05 03:59]

[Edited at 2007-11-05 04:52]
Collapse

Roberta Anderson
Roberta Anderson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 12:56
Member (2001)
English to Italian
+ ...
TagEditor opens InDesign files exported as INX files Nov 5, 2007

As far as I'm aware, to open an InDesign file in TagEditor you need to export it first as INX (InDesign Interchange) format from InDesign itself (File > Export from InDesign).

If you have SDL Trados 2007, the installation will also include SDLX, which can open InDesign INDD files (and convert them to its ITD format), without exporting them to INX format first.

Hope this helps,
Roberta