skyblue
skyblue
United States
Local time: 03:51
Member (2006)
English to Korean
+ ...
Nov 10, 2007

One of my clients sent me SDL Edit and an itd file for me to play with. It appears that I cannot open any document format other than itd. I couldn't open doc, txt, rtf, or any other files than itd. Is it so? Or am I doing something wrong? In SDL Editor, I can only open itd files? Then, how do I create itd files? I am completely new to any CAT tool, so please forgive my ignorance if so.

Giuliana Buscaglione
Giuliana Buscaglione  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:51
Member (2001)
German to Italian
+ ...
SDLX Edit can't be "sent" (license needed) - SDLX Lite Nov 10, 2007

Hi "skyblue",

I think you might have a SDLX *Lite* version, not the full program, as SDLX Edit is a module of SDLX and for that you need a license, i.e. to buy the program.

If you have the Lite version, you can only open and work on *.itd files created by someone owning the SDLX Elite version of CAT.

This doesn't mean that you cannot work, but you can't - and don't need any other file. On the contrary, you can tranlate the file in that module and return th
... See more
Hi "skyblue",

I think you might have a SDLX *Lite* version, not the full program, as SDLX Edit is a module of SDLX and for that you need a license, i.e. to buy the program.

If you have the Lite version, you can only open and work on *.itd files created by someone owning the SDLX Elite version of CAT.

This doesn't mean that you cannot work, but you can't - and don't need any other file. On the contrary, you can tranlate the file in that module and return the translated *.itd file, as you cannot re-create the original format (this can be done, only if you own SDLX full version and have the original file).