Thread poster: Huw Watkins

Huw Watkins  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:49
Member (2005)
Italian to English
+ ...
Dec 24, 2007

I'm running SDL Trados 2006 on Windows XP home. I also use Office XP (2002) too if that's relevant.

I can't get the spellchecker to work in TagEditor - the options are simply greyed out. I'm not an expert on TagEditor, so I assume I'm missing something really simple. I've read a few forum posts which seem to suggest that TagEditor uses the Word spellchecker and that I must have word open. I've tried that and no luck. It is also suggested that I have instruct TagEditor that I am using word spellchecker - how do I do that? I have vague memories of doing something similar at some point, but have since done a registry clean up plus a load of other stuff and although spellchecker did work with this version once upon a time, it doesn't now. Any ideas?

One other thing that may be relevant - I get a visual basic runtime error each time I open Word. I thought that that was related to multiterm, but can't be sure. Everything in the SDL package works fine, as does multiterm 7, except the spell checker in tagEditor. I've tried a repair installation and still no luck.

Direct link Reply with quote

United Kingdom
Member (2005)
Italian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Once last thing Dec 24, 2007

I'm also checking this issue out on tagEditor Help so hopefully I'll be able to resolve this myself.

It mentions: "WinterTree Spelling Checker Properties dialog box. To access this dialog box, click Options in the Check Spelling dialog box."

I don't have the Check Spelling Tab AT ALL in options. That is pretty weird as I am certain i used to have that and was able to set an option to check the spelling before closing a segment automatically.

I can't seem to access the configure Microsft Word spell checker help page as suggested in TaEditor help - maybe internet problems.

Any suggestions?

Sumana U
German to English
+ ...