Mobile menu

Multiterm 2007 Convert is not converting!
Thread poster: Arlete Moraes

Arlete Moraes  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:27
Member (2006)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Dec 30, 2007

Hi All,

I am relatively new to Trados and have been trying to convert a glossary in Excel format with Multiterm 2007 Convert. As far as I know, my glossary meets the criteria for conversion:
a) All data are located on the first sheet in the book
b) The first row in the file contains the header of each column (Source & Target languages) - I have English (source) and Portuguese (target)
c) There are no empty columns between the columns that contain data

I followed the steps on Multiterm, ie. selected the excel file to be converted (Input file), then the other fields were automatically populated (output file, termbase definition file, log file).

When I click on Next, I get the following error message:

"The conversion option could not be initialiased properly. Excel can not be started".

Can anyone help me??

Thanks in advance and Happy New Year!

Direct link Reply with quote

Lectorcito  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:27
English to Spanish
I had the same problem Dec 31, 2007

I had exactly the same problem, using Excell 2000. I downloaded a demo version of Excell 2007 and it worked perfectly. I decided to buy it from here (it's very cheap if you are a student): (this is the UK link: )

I know that's not really a solution, as Excell 2000 is supposed to be compatible, but at least it's an idea.

Peter Linton  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:27
Member (2002)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Spreadsheet format Dec 31, 2007

I think I had this problem recently, using Convert with Excel 2000.

IIRC, the official answer, buried somewhere in the Trados Knowledge base, is that for Excel 2000 you must select the "Spreadsheet or database exchange format" in MT Convert, not Excel, and then follow the instructions.