Elizabeth Downham  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 02:56
Member (2007)
German to English
+ ...
Dec 31, 2007

Hi
I recently installed Trados 2007 Freelance SP1, complete with SDLX, running under Win XP SP2 and Office 2007 (SP1?).
My issue is that when I try to open a translation memory of any sort, including one I literally just created myself, I get an error message saying that "The translation memory could not be opened. Ensure that it is a valid SDLX translation memory and that it has the correct access rights (read/write)".

I have searched on-line and not found anything related to this error (at the Trados website or elsewhere).
I have changed permissions on the folders in which my translation memories are stored so that "everyone" has full control.
Still its not working ...

The issue may be that I am new to SDLX and I have forgot to set something up ... but when I run the tutorials, I get the same issues!!

Please can one of you knowledgeable sorts out there let me know of anything I can try.

A complete re-install is my only other thoughts on the matter, but I am not sure what happens with the licensing and activation codes I already have (i.e. can I re-enter the one I already have or must I first de-activate it and then re-activate it, even if I am installing it on the same machine?).

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help ...

Direct link Reply with quote

Stefan Keller  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:56
English to German
Please add some details Dec 31, 2007

Hi Elizabeth,

I'm a bit confused about what you're trying to do.
If you say you can't open a TM that you "just created" yourself, I wonder how you did create it and in what application you try opening it. Could you provide some more details? And are you sure that you try to open an SDLX TM in SDL Edit?

Regards,
Stefan

Portugal
Member (2007)
German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
More details about error opening translation memory in SDL Edit Dec 31, 2007

Hello Stefan,