Thread poster: Krzysztof Kłonica
Krzysztof Kłonica
Krzysztof Kłonica  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 18:15
English to Polish
+ ...
Jan 2, 2008

I'm completely new to Trados (2007 FL SP1) and I'm about to start my first Trados job. My client sent me several .rtf files (S-Tagged and pretranslated) and two TM's to work with. My problem is that I cannot figure out how to open both of them in WB. Also, one of them is Canadian English->Polish and the second one - American English->Polish. Is it possible to have them working together?
At first I tried to create a project in Synergy, where you can specify more than one TM, but when the pr
... See more
I'm completely new to Trados (2007 FL SP1) and I'm about to start my first Trados job. My client sent me several .rtf files (S-Tagged and pretranslated) and two TM's to work with. My problem is that I cannot figure out how to open both of them in WB. Also, one of them is Canadian English->Polish and the second one - American English->Polish. Is it possible to have them working together?
At first I tried to create a project in Synergy, where you can specify more than one TM, but when the project was ready and I tried to open the first file to start tranlsation I received a message saying that there were no files to be translated in the project (!). I'm guessing it's because they had been pretranslated by the client. Is there a way to create a project so as to be able to work with such pretranslated files?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Stake
Collapse

Renée van Bijsterveld
Renée van Bijsterveld  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2007)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Reference TM Jan 3, 2008

You could use one TM as your working TM (from which translations will be leveraged and into which your translations will be saved) and make the other TM your reference TM:
Choose Options.
Choose Translation memory options.
Click Concordance.
Browse to your second TM in Reference TM.